PDA

View Full Version : Computers!



leo3375
10-21-2004, 06:32 PM
What kind of computer do you use? What operating system? What Web browser?

Jebus
10-21-2004, 06:47 PM
I have such an out of date computer.
I have a custom made computer made by one of my dads friends.
amd athlon 1.3 ghz
256 mb of memory
40 gig hard drive
windows xp proffecional
internet explorer
dsl

Endymion
10-21-2004, 09:57 PM
one of my pcs is winxp pro, athlon 1900+, 512 pc2100, etc etc. my laptop is 600mhz, runs fedora core rawhide. my computer at work runs fedora core rawhide as well, but i dont' remember it's stats (1.7ghz, i think). i use firefox on all of them (although i'll sometimes use epiphany on the laptop).

oh, both the laptop and the desktop also have zeta beos on 'em, but i rarely boot into them.

sKratch
10-21-2004, 10:30 PM
my computer has a keyboard and you turn it on with a power button. the montor is broken i think because it's a lot flatter than other people's

sKratch
10-21-2004, 10:34 PM
amd athlon xp 2400+ running stock because the multiplier is locked
1024 mb ddr ram
sapphire radeon 9800 pro 128mb
nForce2 motherboard

i put in a new northbridge fan after the stock pooped out, much to my dissatisfaction. northbridge cooling, i found, lowers system temperature greatly. put in a custom fanjob on the side window before i went to college. pictures upon request i guess.

HornyPope
10-21-2004, 10:55 PM
I'm picking a new machine next week from Florida. She bites. Once, if ever, I finish assembling her that is.

Mobo - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP Ultra-64 mobo. It's a mobo chiefly for servers with a U320 card on board for SCSI drive. I'm still not settled on that since it's retailed at over 400$. But I was looking around at either PCI-X boards or mobos who carry U320 card and found no better solutions. Any suggestions?

Drive - Seagate 37gig 15 000 rpm SCSI drive for boot. And a 250WD 8mbit cache drive for storage on top of that.

CPU - 3.2ghz P4 of the 478 socket 1mb with H/T. Couldn't find a board with U320 card for AMD technology. And for once that the AMDs actually stopped being so insanely fucking hot--most clock at like 35celcius wow! It's a pity because I spent a lot of time debating the benifits of a HT vs amd64 and now all my efforts are put to waste by the manufacturer who chooses not to offer me but one option.

Video card - 256mb x600 ATI. I was gonna go for 9600pro but the x600 dropped so much in price lately that I figured I might as well grab it.

Sound card- I'm really clueless about sound cards. I'm guessing a standard sound blaster live will do. Though perhaps I should consider something more 'exotic' since I listen to a lot of music after all.

Monitor - Any 19" LCD with a response rate of under 15 (preferably a 12) is good. And I can always plug a couple of my good ol' CRTs for gaming if it comes to that.

The rest of the comp is pretty much standard.

As for the comps that I currently have, I won't bother with the old ones. But here's my Vaio - http://www.ciao.co.uk/Sony_VAIO_GRT916V__5643564/TabId/4


Oh yeah and i'm switching between win2000 and XP for the OS and Opera for the browsers. Fuck firefox.

Yes, yes, all this means that I have one huuuuuge penis that I want to show off.

sKratch
10-21-2004, 11:08 PM
audigy series soundcards are good i think (creativelabs)
i have a 17" samsung lcd at 1280x1024 native

Mota Boy
10-21-2004, 11:10 PM
A black and yellow one.

Tizzalicious
10-22-2004, 12:09 AM
Windows XP
Mozilla

That's about all I know ;)

Endymion
10-22-2004, 12:39 AM
aww, why not firefox? it's way 1337er.

or, i could say lynx...

Tizzalicious
10-22-2004, 12:48 AM
Lee told me to get this ages ago...probably shouldn't have listened...as it crashed twice this week, and I lost all my mail (using the mailbox too) but it's all fine now :)

Endymion
10-22-2004, 12:52 AM
oh...

12345

HornyPope
10-22-2004, 12:53 AM
My firefox took like 30 seconds to load anytime I grabbed a link from elsewhere but http, particulary instant messangers and irc. I don't use it anymore. Opera is the way to go.

Pyro
10-22-2004, 03:56 AM
I have an AMD Athlon XP 2500+
w/ 512 Mb of RAM
nVidia GeForce FX 5200
nForce 2 motherboard
Windows XP professional

Subsidal
10-22-2004, 08:18 AM
I don't know much bout computers, but, I use a Dell thing (fucking worse that shit), Windows XP Professional, DSL Wireless lan or something..

Endymion
10-22-2004, 08:43 AM
dell packages spyware!

and opera is cool too... i've got it, just don't use it too often.

Sunny
10-22-2004, 01:30 PM
i have two, a shitty Dell PC and an Apple Powerbook G4... 15" screen.. 1 Gb RAM.. 1.5GHz CPU.. 80 Gb hd. i love it dearly.

Fantazio
10-22-2004, 01:48 PM
Got an ibook 700mhz with 20 go, but I'm gonna sell it very soon to buy a new imac G5

cooler
10-22-2004, 02:00 PM
my cfg:(Win XP professional of course)
P4Northwood 533fsb/512cache,motherboard ASUS P4SDX;512DDR RAM2700(Kingston333Mhz);HDD Seagate Barracuda160GB,7200rpm;GE-FORCE3 Ti200really weak dude ill change it soon on A6800Ultra cause nVidia RULES!!!!

leo3375
10-22-2004, 02:32 PM
There are 2 computers in my house. First is the family computer. It's an iMac G3 from 2000 with a 30 GB hard drive and about 256 or 512K of RAM. It's running Mac OSX 1.5. The primary Web browsers are Netscape and Internet Explorer.

Then there's my computer. It's a 17" G4 PowerBook with an 80GB hard drive and 1GB of RAM. My operating system is OSX Panther (10.3.5). Although I have IE and Mozilla, I primarily use Safari.

Sunny
10-22-2004, 04:35 PM
Then there's my computer. It's a 17" G4 PowerBook with an 80GB hard drive and 1GB of RAM. My operating system is OSX Panther (10.3.5). Although I have IE and Mozilla, I primarily use Safari.

*high five* g4 powerbooks are the shit
aluminum or titanium? ;p

and how do you like it? i was thinking about getting a 17"... but I heard they can somehow.. bend.. (something to do with the screen size) and get all messed up. have you experienced any problems? just curious

leo3375
10-23-2004, 01:56 PM
It's aluminum, and I love my PowerBook, like, a lot! So far no problems. I'm super-protective of it and do my damndest to keep it in good shape.

PresidentKiller
10-23-2004, 02:20 PM
The key features of my two daughters... :p

Desktop PC:

Dell Dimension 8300
RAM: 512 MB
Hard Disk: 2 x 80 GB = 160 GB
Video memory: 128 MB NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
Processor: Intel Pentium 4 2.4 GHz w/Hyper-Threading
Display: 15" LCD
Drives: CD-ROM, DVD/CD-RW, DVDRW/RAM and the (still) useful Floppy drive :p

Notebook:

Sony VAIO PCG-FX777
RAM: 384 MB
Hard Disk: 1 x 14 GB = 14 GB (yes, it's really small... :p)
Video memory: 32 MB (Unknown brand)
Processor: Intel Pentium III-M 900 MHz
Display: 14" LCD
Drives: DVD/CD-RW and the floppy drive too...

Both have Windows XP Professional SP2, I use both Internet Explorer and Mozilla Firefox as browsers.

I know they are not great machines, but they are cool and I'm happy with them :) (even though the notebook sometimes gets up on my nerves...)

RonWelty
10-23-2004, 03:08 PM
well mine

Personal Computer

p4 2.8 ghz 800 mhz
ge force 5900 ultra xt 128
512 ddr ram
15" lcd SAMSUNG EXLUSIVE model 152 S - limited version
Speakers : 1 - creative 380
2 - i had my computer connected to my home cinema , because i have a little anfitheatre in my house and i see there some divx ..(dvds are expensive ..i can t buy one per week or something)

Internet Connection : ADSL 512/128
Windows Xp service pack 1 Portuguese
POCKET PC :

its a phone call and pocket pc

Qtek 1010
300 mhz

has MSN , modem 14,4 kbps (:P)

Windows 2002

GunForHire
10-23-2004, 06:00 PM
I just built my own (well, I chose all the parts myself and just had a mate stick it together) a few weeks ago:

Windows XP professional
Firefox
AMD64 3000+
1024 MB RAM
ATI 9800 Pro 128
160 Gb hard drive
Sony dual layer DVD-ReWriter
17" CRT monitor

Not Ozymandias
10-23-2004, 06:12 PM
Dell
WindowsXP
Explorer

Kitten
10-24-2004, 02:47 AM
My computer is old, but it does the job (for the moment)

800Mhz celeron
256Mb ram
4 mg on board fucking video Grrrr. ( only problem is I found out after getting it has no AGP slot, otherwise it would have a 128mb radeon video card in it)
10gb hard drive (when they first came out, I figured that you would never use that much, its amazing how much you do use when you thought you had a lot)
56k modem
52x32x52 cd rewrite

All running on winblows M.E.
Upgrading it to xp as soon as I can find my disk.

HornyPope
11-01-2004, 02:05 AM
So yeah, I brought my computer (parts) from down south. Here's the scoop:

Asus P56DC-V deluxe mobo. supports the 775 chip, PCI-E compatible, features 4 ddr slots and 2 ddr2 slots, supports raid 0,1, possibility of 4 SATA drives and 4 IDE (which i will use for optical drivers), onboard firewire and gigabit lan.

P4 3.0ghz prescott core with H/T cpu.

saphire x600 256mb video card (PCI-E)

1 gig (512X2) of corsair 400mhz ddr ram XMS series - CAS2 latency. gonna add another gig soon of the same.

37 gig WD raptor SATA drive; runs at 10 000 rpms with a 5.5ms seek time. gonna add few more 250 sata drives (at 7200 rpm) for storage.


Woot. be amazed.

Izie
11-01-2004, 02:22 AM
So yeah, I brought my computer (parts) from down south. Here's the scoop:

Asus P56DC-V deluxe mobo. supports the 775 chip, PCI-E compatible, features 4 ddr slots and 2 ddr2 slots, supports raid 0,1, possibility of 4 SATA drives and 4 IDE (which i will use for optical drivers), onboard firewire and gigabit lan.

P4 3.0ghz prescott core with H/T cpu.

saphire x600 256mb video card (PCI-E)

1 gig (512X2) of corsair 400mhz ddr ram XMS series - CAS2 latency. gonna add another gig soon of the same.

37 gig WD raptor SATA drive; runs at 10 000 rpms with a 5.5ms seek time. gonna add few more 250 sata drives (at 7200 rpm) for storage.


Woot. be amazed.



You'd better get a good PSU, i need to get myself another one too (they are cheap anyway) since i can't let my ram (512*2 400 ddr) run at 400 mhz and burn a dvd at the same time.

HornyPope
11-01-2004, 02:25 AM
Yeah I know, I will go tomorow to the computer store and get me a 550watts one. I was recommended a bunch of brands but forgot the name. I also need to buy heatsink for the video card since i'm not at all impressed with the size of the fan.

Vicky
11-01-2004, 02:47 AM
XP, but it freezes out all the time, like.. every 10mins or so. I'm just too lazy to get someone to format it for me. And I use IExplorer or Avant browser... Have mozilla but I don't like it. Um. Thats all I know :P

Hysteria
11-01-2004, 03:25 AM
Well, my personal computer thats in my bedroom is...

Dell Dimension 4550
Windows XP Professional (I have Knoppix on CD too)
Intel Pentium 4 2.4Ghz
60Gb Hard Drive
512mb PC2700 Ram
ATI Radeon Pro 9700 DDR 128mb Graphics with TV-Out
16x DVD-Rom
48x16x48 Samsung CD-RW
Internet Explorer
Mozilla FireFox
Dell 17" CRT, 1152x864 res. at 75Hz.
Fucking 56k Modem until July.

Bazza
11-01-2004, 03:27 AM
well mine's a pile of shit,

i'm currently at school on bog standard pc's

Hysteria
11-01-2004, 03:59 AM
I remember you.

Tijs
11-01-2004, 05:45 AM
I'm just too lazy to get someone to format it for me.
Holy crap... too lazy to let someone else do something for you?

AMD Athlon 750Mhz
80Gb Hard Drive (seperated in 20Gb and 60Gb)
256mb ram memory
NVIDIA GeForce2 MX 64mb 100/200 with TV-Out
Pinnacle TV PC-Card SVCD-in and TV-in
Mitsimu CD-RW
Toshiba CD-Rom
Windows XP Professional
Internet Explorer
100mb Network card
LAN Internet

wliethof
11-01-2004, 10:09 AM
AMD Athlon64 2800+ 512kb NC
256mb ram
160Gb HD
NEC dual layer dvd RW
Asus radeon 128mb graphics
Win XP
maxthon browser thingy

MirandaV
11-01-2004, 10:20 AM
Dammit, all that I know off is that I'm using Windows 98

Tijs
11-01-2004, 10:30 AM
NEC dual layer dvd RW
Yeah bitch, NEC!

Vicky
11-01-2004, 10:44 AM
Holy crap... too lazy to let someone else do something for you?


Yup. My dad doesn't live with us now, so its a bit of an effort to call him when hes in, and I don't trust my brother, and I know I can't do it myself

Chris
11-01-2004, 12:58 PM
I wouldn't trust your dad either after last time!

Sixpence.
11-01-2004, 01:09 PM
Sometimes computers suck. 1 hour ago my server kicked me out and I didn't know why I was innocent :p
My father works in another city from monday-friday and my mom don't understand that stuff anyway and I don't understand it either.
I was trying to get in again but that failed and after 5 minutes this electronical piece of shit was so kind to tell me the reason. ADSL. Nice. Here are lots of modems and I didn't know which one to choose I just picked one and I should reset it. Good. I know how to reset these things, I just pull the plug. But there are so many cables and it's a real chaos. This ADSL has three cables into the outlets and I didn't know which one is right so I just pulled one, put it in again and that's it. Now I'm proud that I've done it on my own.

I hate it if the internet's not working. I fuck around then, my mom's getting angry and then we both fuck around. And when it's working again I'm happy and so does my mom. Great, right? *laughs and shakeshead* :D

wliethof
11-01-2004, 01:15 PM
Yeah bitch, NEC!

we'll see about that next sunday.. we kicked twente's arses... teeheee

Tijs
11-01-2004, 02:22 PM
We almost kicked Ajax' arses... teeheee

beautifulnightmare
11-01-2004, 04:12 PM
What kind of computer do you use? What operating system? What Web browser?
i dunno what kind it is but i have Microsoft Internet Explorer.

sKratch
11-01-2004, 05:33 PM
I hate it if the internet's not working. I fuck around then, my mom's getting angry and then we both fuck around. And when it's working again I'm happy and so does my mom. Great, right? *laughs and shakeshead* :D
Freud would have a field day.