PDA

View Full Version : Drumming help please

Conspiracy of One
10-27-2005, 06:13 PM
Okay, Im just starting drumming. Of course being self taught because I wan't to surprise my family. Any drummer's out there that could give me some tips? Or maybe links to some good instructional sites? It would be greatly appreciated.

Drummer_Boi91
10-27-2005, 06:18 PM
Practice makes perfect, ive been drumming or 2 years and when i first started i just picked up a pair of sticks and starting hitting the bloody thing ay. Just get involved with everything u can, if your at school get involved with everything drumming related. Make friends with drummers, talk to drummers...

BE A DRUMMER :cool:

Drummerguy123
10-27-2005, 06:21 PM
I highly suggest private lessons. They help so much. And also, just be around other drummers that are better than you. Study their technique and try to mimic it. That's what I do. Another thing, I don't know if you are in a school band or something, but use your wrists to drum, not your fingers. That is a big mistake I see a lot of drummers do. Another thing is to learn to play quietly. That is very helpful. For my final tip I will say to study jazz drumming. Jazz drumming just makes everything so much better.

Drummer_Boi91
10-27-2005, 06:22 PM
Im in a Birth Of The Blues class which helps my tecnique loads. From syncopated beats to learning cut shuffle, shuffle etc etc.

Drummerguy123
10-27-2005, 06:25 PM
Another thing is to do drumline and marhing percussion. That builds your chops so fast (if you do it right).

Conspiracy of One
10-27-2005, 06:26 PM
Well i've been playing guitar for 3 years, and my dad plays drums. So we have a drum set and everything, I just want to surprise him next time we play together. I can get the regular beat, but in-between parts I can't quite get the fast quick pace.

Drummerguy123
10-27-2005, 06:30 PM