PDA

View Full Version : Why Does The Government Insist On Stealing My Youth?

wheelchairman
11-06-2005, 05:24 PM
It's inevitable.

It seems that society is hell-bent on stealing my youth. Everything tells me that I should go through my education as fast as possible, so I can become a part of that ever-wonderful career workforce. What a dream!

There is constant discussion on whether or not Student subsidies should be turned into loans, or whether or not extra fees should be added on if the path to finishing uni should be a little longer than expected.

There is nothing but the constant pressure to become a person who hates himself.

It's becoming increasingly depressing. What would be so wrong if I were to choose to take a year off from studying altogether? I mean I love studying, but I've been doing it for 15 years now. I'm getting kind of sick of it. A year off to perhaps work a bit, might be nice. Do something other than hate what I used to love.

And what pisses me off the most is that it's all pressure to become like my father. A man who hated his job, but did it so that he could provide for his family. Like his father did the same, and probably my father's father's father did the same. I don't want to end up like that. I'm not religious enough to believe that present altruism will be rewarded in an afterlife. Oh I wish I was though!

How I envy those who know that heaven will provide them with all the comforts they sacrificed today. I'm just not pious enough, I believe that life is too short to work a job I'll hate every day. The only woman for me is one who can accept a life of poverty in order that I, and hopefully she can at least do the things we enjoy.