PDA

View Full Version : I have an awful confession to make

Mota Boy
09-26-2006, 10:21 PM
An open letter to various MTV specials, student crusades and Facebook groups.

Look, I know it's hip. I know it's chic. I know it's one of the most populous groups on facebook. I know that, as a liberal college student, I'm supposed to make this a top priority, but I can't take it any more: I don't care about Darfur. Yes yes, I know that people are being raped, that babies are starving. I know that children are being murdered because of their religion. Or maybe their ethnicity, I really couldn't give two shits either way. Seriously, shut the fuck up.

Yeah, it's totally tragic. Yeah, we promised "never again" or something after the Holocaust, or maybe after Rwanda (which I didn't care about either) but I can honestly say that I don't care. I don't care I don't care I don't care. I don't care. Stop talking about it. You know what annoys me? I don't think you really care either. I think it's just the hip genocide of the moment. I think it's just something to get you laid or make you feel morally superior. You can spend all the time you want thinking or talking about the poor Sudanese kids without ever having to do anything. Because seriously, who really gives a shit?