PDA

View Full Version : Hey Anyone got Guitar tips?

Rayn671
10-03-2006, 10:12 AM
I've been playing guitar on off for 5 or 6 years.....obviously now i don't play the offspring much as i perfer to learn stuff that challenges me like Dire straights but i've been song writing allot and i just wanted advice for good scales to play power chord songs though or any tips really.....my lyrics and singing are good enough i think its jjust my riffs sound like 3 or 4 chords played over and over. i taught myself guitar and music theory....my advice to ANYONE is learn a bit of theory cause it helps so so much. anyway i'd appriciate some advice.

Andy
xXx:D

Sinister
10-03-2006, 10:13 AM
pentatonic minor scale on top of powerchords is the way to go - most (if not all) Metallica solos, for example, are done that way.

Rayn671
10-03-2006, 10:17 AM
:) i've gone off metal now more into Ska-punk and Grunge...but offsprings stil my favorate band! anyway i'll have a try and see what sounds i can jam out :D maybe the offspring should do a song with Less than Jake one day?? :D

offspringing
10-03-2006, 11:42 AM
this is in the wrong section

Tijs
10-03-2006, 12:02 PM
Moved to Your Band, you'd probably get better replies there.

coke_a_holic
10-03-2006, 12:35 PM
5 or 6 years and still working with powerchords, dude? I've been playing about 2 years, and I've started experimenting with really odd chords and with strange modes. What you REALLY want to get into is the modes. They're what scales come out of, and they're really interesting.

Ionian (major scale) has a very happy sound and is used in basically every song you knew as a child: twinkle, twinkle little star, happy birthday, etc. These are the note names for all the modes that are based out of C major.

C Ionian: C D E F G A B C
D Dorian: D E F G A B C D
E Phrygian: E F G A B C D E
F Lydian: F G A B C D E F
G Mixolydian: G A B C D E F G
A Aeolian: A B C D E F G A
B Locrian: B C D E F G A B