PDA

View Full Version : Help me decide what I want to do with my life.

Isolated Fury
02-08-2007, 06:03 AM
Right now I'm majoring in secondary English education. I don't want to anymore, though. I love the English language. I just can't make it a career. However, I have a thought. I'm considering changing my major to German. I don't know why, but I feel like it would make me happy.

Does anyone know what the job market is for a German major and if this is a smart move?

Zeall
02-08-2007, 06:11 AM
Right now I'm majoring in secondary English education. I don't want to anymore, though. I love the English language. I just can't make it a career. However, I have a thought. I'm considering changing my major to German. I don't know why, but I feel like it would make me happy.

Does anyone know what the job market is for a German major and if this is a smart move?

IMO i think it's best to do whatever makes you happy, that's what i did, but just make a plan, if you do plan to change, asses what you will be doing in a year, and then even further down the line, because without goals in front of you, it'll be much harder to go down the right path for you.

this is my opinion, and i'm sure others here will have opposite views from me, but in the end, it's all up to you

the_GoDdEsS
02-08-2007, 06:31 AM
I'm a double major English/German with a minor in teaching. First of all, what's your experience with the German language, because as we all know it's not exactly easy for most people. As a graduate (in a different country however) I can tell you your options would mostly consist of teaching or translating (which is not bad if you have your own clients), but that does not mean you're limited to this only. Many people do completely different things than they studied.

Isolated Fury
02-08-2007, 06:54 AM