PDA

View Full Version : Which operating system do you use on your personal computer?



Jojan
03-18-2007, 10:04 AM
Which operating system do you use on your personal computer?

Grabbal
03-18-2007, 10:06 AM
Windows xp of course. Isn't that the best one??

Marco
03-18-2007, 10:08 AM
I use Windows XP....I think it's too early to buy Vista, and a Mac would not be good here in Italy for many reasons (even if it's better than Windows).

Whiplash
03-18-2007, 10:09 AM
Window's XP, Only reason i use it is because i came with my PC and my laptop.

mrconeman
03-18-2007, 10:09 AM
Windows XP.
It works.

HeadAroundU
03-18-2007, 10:38 AM
Windows XP.

JohnnyNemesis
03-18-2007, 10:40 AM
Mac OS X 10.4.8

Llamas
03-18-2007, 10:47 AM
XP. Comp USA said when I bought my laptop that Toshiba would mail me a free copy of Vista in February, but I never got it. Maybe cause I'm overseas. I'd use Vista for free, but I won't buy it.

Zeall
03-18-2007, 11:18 AM
Vista, no problems so far that it didn't fix themselves

F@ BANKZ
03-18-2007, 11:19 AM
XP, i think it was selected for the because it was the most widely used thus presumed most reliable, are there any better now?

MrJoe
03-18-2007, 11:36 AM
I'm still on XP Media Centre Edition but my free Vista Premium upgrade should be arriving in the post anyday.

Endymion
03-18-2007, 12:34 PM
i have more than one computer... and many of them are dual boot.

my laptop runs fedora core 6
my engineering workstation runs fedora core rawhide, beos zeta 1.5, and solaris 10 11/06
my secondary engineering workstation runs QNX 6.3.2
my physics workstation runs fedora core 6 & windows xp
my secondary physics system runs ubuntu 6.10 & solaris 10 11/06
i have two workstations at home, one is a ppc running osx 10.4.8 and the other is my really old winxp box.

MrJoe
03-18-2007, 12:46 PM
Just one or two then ;)

Apathy
03-18-2007, 12:48 PM
I don't know, nor do I care how to find out.

Endymion
03-18-2007, 12:52 PM
Windows xp of course. Isn't that the best one??


Windows XP.
It works.


XP, i think it was selected for the because it was the most widely used thus presumed most reliable, are there any better now?

these made me lol

Llamas
03-18-2007, 12:53 PM
i have more than one computer... and many of them are dual boot.

my laptop runs fedora core 6
my engineering workstation runs fedora core rawhide, beos zeta 1.5, and solaris 10 11/06
my secondary engineering workstation runs QNX 6.3.2
my physics workstation runs fedora core 6 & windows xp
my secondary physics system runs ubuntu 6.10 & solaris 10 11/06
i have two workstations at home, one is a ppc running osx 10.4.8 and the other is my really old winxp box.

Nerd/loser/let'sdoit.


I don't know, nor do I care how to find out.

You don't know? Is it not a huge screen that shows up for several seconds every time you turn on your computer??

MrJoe
03-18-2007, 12:53 PM
Not necessarily.

The Talking Pie
03-18-2007, 12:53 PM
Vista/Slax on my laptop.

Until recently I also ran ME, XP and RedHat 9 on my desktop, but I gave that to my cousin.

And every now and again I boot into Windows 3.1 for kicks.

Apathy
03-18-2007, 12:54 PM
You don't know? Is it not a huge screen that shows up for several seconds every time you turn on your computer??

No? I never turn off my computer. It might be.

Llamas
03-18-2007, 01:02 PM
No? I never turn off my computer. It might be.

That is insane. That's like not knowing what kind of car you drive.

Nina
03-18-2007, 01:05 PM
XP, and I am dead unhappy. A friend tried to get me into Linux but I'm unsure.

Apathy
03-18-2007, 01:09 PM
That is insane. That's like not knowing what kind of car you drive.

I disagree. I see what kind of car I have everytime I'm in it. If I leave my computer on all the time then I never see what kind it is.

Endymion
03-18-2007, 01:12 PM
yes you do, particularly windows. it says "windows ${version}" all over the place.

Llamas
03-18-2007, 01:12 PM
I disagree. I see what kind of car I have everytime I'm in it. If I leave my computer on all the time then I never see what kind it is.

The program shows up in way more places than just when you restart. Plus, your car says the model on the inside? Really? huh, I've never seen that before.

Tired_Of_You
03-18-2007, 01:39 PM
I have Mac OS 10.3.9 & unfortunately can't upgrade to 10.4.

Apathy
03-18-2007, 01:42 PM
Well there are little logos all over the place, however I do not recognize any of them.

Llamas
03-18-2007, 01:55 PM
Hit the start button. On the list of programs, what does it say on the left side?

Endymion
03-18-2007, 02:00 PM
well, if there's a start button it's windows.

Llamas
03-18-2007, 02:05 PM
Well, if he doesn't know what he uses, he uses windows. Only people who care use anything else. But if he checks there, it'll say what version of windows. More than likely, he uses Windows XP, though.

Mannen som blev en gris
03-18-2007, 03:23 PM
Windows CP (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rzWGRmeVOO4)

MrJoe
03-18-2007, 03:33 PM
I don't get it.

Mannen som blev en gris
03-18-2007, 03:40 PM
1. Learn Swedish
2. Get

MrJoe
03-18-2007, 03:59 PM
*Noted! :D

the_GoDdEsS
03-18-2007, 04:03 PM
I've been using XP for the past few years. It's been okay and for simple user demands it's enough. I also don't remember it annoying me.

ZagmenO
03-18-2007, 04:04 PM
I use Vista. That one is actually better than XP.

Apathy
03-18-2007, 04:09 PM
Hit the start button. On the list of programs, what does it say on the left side?

it doesn't say anything. There is a start button. But when I hit start it just lists programs.

Manic Subsidal Boy
03-19-2007, 12:39 AM
iMacs are really a personal computer but they should be on there

Tizzalicious
03-19-2007, 01:08 AM
I've been using XP for the past few years. It's been okay and for simple user demands it's enough. I also don't remember it annoying me.

Same here. I'm happy with it.

Sunny
03-19-2007, 08:43 AM
mac osx, duh.

on a semi-related note, has anyone tried running boot camp on a mac? does it work ok? i am super pissed because i might have to do it in order to run solidworks... and i'm nervous about running windows on my macbook. :/

Rag Doll
03-19-2007, 09:14 AM
windows xp.

i might be buying a new laptop in the semi-near future, cause the one i have now is fucking up a lot (plus, i like new toys). however, all the new laptops have vista, and i'm not sure how i feel about that =\

Endymion
03-19-2007, 09:24 AM
however, all the new laptops have vista, and i'm not sure how i feel about that =\

if you've got the green, get a macbook. they're really, really nice. i'd get one if i had the cash (though i still prefer linux to osx).

Rag Doll
03-19-2007, 09:31 AM
i do, but for some reason, i dont really like macs. i had to use them last summer and i just...meh. i might end up just cracking and buying one, as long as some of the stuff i have is compatible with it.

Zeall
03-19-2007, 09:39 AM
windows xp.

i might be buying a new laptop in the semi-near future, cause the one i have now is fucking up a lot (plus, i like new toys). however, all the new laptops have vista, and i'm not sure how i feel about that =\

You'll get used to it, and if not you can always install XP again (assuming you got an XP disc when you bought your old laptop) :)

Sunny
03-19-2007, 10:22 AM
if you've got the green, get a macbook. they're really, really nice.

endyyyy. is it safe/ok to try running windows on it? :/

Llamas
03-19-2007, 12:07 PM
I have a question: what about apples makes them more expensive? Is it the software? Just the mac program, or is it the computer itself? I've never been able to tell a different in performance from the computers, just Macintosh itself.

Jebus
03-19-2007, 12:30 PM
Hardware-wise, newer macs really aren't that different from any other company that sells prebuilt computers (Dell, HP, Compaq) now that they come with Intel processors. The only major difference between a company like Dell and Apple is the OS the computer comes with. I don't even think Macs are particularly more expensive than other companies. Dell overcharges just as much as Apple. You can't upgrade CPUs and motherboards in Macs though.

I only use Windows XP at the moment. I used to duel-boot with Ubuntu and Fedora core, but I haven't been able to get any linux/gnu distribution to work ever since I got my new videocard. I ordered a free Solaris copy over a month ago just to try it. Hasn't arrived yet though.

Llamas
03-19-2007, 12:34 PM
But I got my Toshiba for around $700, and the very cheapest Apple was over $1,000. Why? What on earth accounts for that extra $300? Just the software?

Jebus
03-19-2007, 12:47 PM
Probably because PCs have more lower-end options than what apple offers. That $1000 mac almost certainly has better hardware than your $700 toshiba. If you were to get a $1000 non-apple laptop and compare it with a $1000 apple laptop, they'd have similar specs though.

Llamas
03-19-2007, 12:54 PM
Probably because PCs have more lower-end options than what apple offers. That $1000 mac almost certainly has better hardware than your $700 toshiba. If you were to get a $1000 non-apple laptop and compare it with a $1000 apple laptop, they'd have similar specs though.

Why doesn't apple make anything cheaper? And what are some things about the $1000 apple that make it better? I just don't understand.

Zeall
03-19-2007, 01:20 PM
Why doesn't apple make anything cheaper? And what are some things about the $1000 apple that make it better? I just don't understand.

Exactly, and they claim that they make "family PCs"

Endymion
03-19-2007, 01:21 PM
i completely disagree with jebus. mac hardware is really, really nice. much higher quality than the normal PC. voltages are more stable, phase and frequency drifts are much, much smaller. also, open one up. it's like a piece of art inside. same with sun's solaris boxes. they're just beautiful to look at (inside), whereas the normal PC is a thrown-together peice of crap. the board layouts are terrible.

Endymion
03-19-2007, 01:22 PM
sunny -- can't you do parallels? that'd be much safer since it runs *inside* of osx.

but from what i've heard running xp with bootcamp should be fine.

Jebus
03-19-2007, 01:41 PM
Why doesn't apple make anything cheaper? A
Because, they don't. Maybe they only want to cater to the higher end market because it gives them a more prestigious rep? I don't know. I'm not the right person to ask. I don't work for apple.
EDIT: meant to say don't



i completely disagree with jebus. mac hardware is really, really nice. much higher quality than the normal PC. voltages are more stable, phase and frequency drifts are much, much smaller. also, open one up. it's like a piece of art inside. same with sun's solaris boxes. they're just beautiful to look at (inside), whereas the normal PC is a thrown-together peice of crap. the board layouts are terrible.
We'll yeah...but if you were to build your own PC with the parts carefully chosen for the right price, I think you'd be able to build a pc with hardware just as nice as what mac has and even possibly cheaper. Performance-wise, I don't think a core 2 duo you get in a mac will be that different than the core 2 duos for a PC. I do generally agree with you with you said with the other stuff only when compared with companies like Dell or whatever since a lot of their stuff is proprietary crap.

Lars
03-19-2007, 02:13 PM
mac osx, duh.

on a semi-related note, has anyone tried running boot camp on a mac? does it work ok? i am super pissed because i might have to do it in order to run solidworks... and i'm nervous about running windows on my macbook. :/My brother has XP running fine on his mac pro, I don't remember him encountering any serious problems (and can't remember any minor issues he had.)

10.2.9 old ass g4
10.3.9 ibook g4
xp on on a box I made years ago.

I could really do with a new mac, I'm tired of dvd studio pro2 and it's limitations when I actually try and do stuff that I know should be possible but it's not in this version. I wonder how the upgrade path from ppc to intel goes, if it exists.

Tijs
03-20-2007, 01:51 PM
I'm using Windows Vista.

Anyone found a way to crack it yet?
http://img503.imageshack.us/img503/8596/windowsvistayo5.gif

MrJoe
03-20-2007, 02:09 PM
Haha, have you tried searching torrent sites?

How have you been finding Vista? Have you got Basic or Premium?

My free Vista Premium upgrade should arrive in the post soon and need to get feedback before I decide whether to install it just yet or not.

Tijs
03-20-2007, 02:18 PM
I installed Home Premium. My experience so far is: Stay with XP. Too many programs, drivers and games are not supported (yet).

MrJoe
03-20-2007, 02:19 PM
Thanks man. What sort of programs are we talking here?

The Talking Pie
03-20-2007, 02:31 PM
There are sites out there (Google them) that have instructions for extending the grace period in Vista to 120 days.

Tired_Of_You
03-20-2007, 02:51 PM
10.2.9 old ass g410.2.9 g4, old ass? dude, my computer is an old imac g3. i'd like to buy a new one, but i don't have the money.

Also, i forgot to mention the dinosaur i have at home, though i use it only because of the printer. it's using os8 something i think.

Lars
03-20-2007, 03:57 PM
10.2.9 g4, old ass? dude, my computer is an old imac g3. i'd like to buy a new one, but i don't have the money.

Also, i forgot to mention the dinosaur i have at home, though i use it only because of the printer. it's using os8 something i think.
Haha, it is old, 466mhz old. I don't remember if they made the old imacs still then.

Is the dinosaur as awesome as this?
http://rocbo.net/musee/img/5200.jpg