PDA

View Full Version : I'm awful at playing things by ear

Apathy
04-21-2007, 09:46 PM
So there's this song with a bass part I really like. It's called By Force (http://www.purevolume.com/theflamingtsunamis)

It sounds simple enough, and I can pretty much guarantee that I can play it. However I cannot learn how to play anything without sheet music or tabs and since this is a smaller band, none of that exists.

I realize this is a long shot, but if anyone can help me out at all it would be greatly appreciated.

Thomas
04-21-2007, 10:36 PM
The only thing I can suggest would be to take a music theory class. It'll help you identify notes and intervals and whatnot.

killer_queen
04-22-2007, 05:38 AM
Music theory class? What the hell is that? I can't believe I've never heard of it. I've been playing music for 12 years and I could have never played a decent song by ear. I should take that class too.

By the way, Apathy, everyone says the hard thing is reading music. I guess we are the lucky ones.

mrconeman
04-22-2007, 06:14 AM
I dunno how to explain that I can do it, I guess when I hear a note I can just know where on the fret board it will be, with a fair ammount of accuracy anyway.

One thing I've found that helps is to recognize intervals, if you get even one note of the bass line right, if you recognise the pattern you should be able to work the rest of the notes out like that.

A really, really boring way to do it if you're desperate would be listening to the song with bass in hand and literally just playing every note (within reason of where it could be) and just waiting until you stumble accross the right ones.
How long have you been playing aswell?

I was fairly hopeless at doing things by ear untill about a year into playing, then I got o.k at it, now I can figure out pretty much whatever, unless its some crazy jazz or classical chord I haven't seen before or something.

Apathy
04-22-2007, 09:39 AM