PDA

View Full Version : A question for all the musicians on this forum...

drummerbecca
07-21-2008, 10:55 AM
Ok, probably another pointless thread as far as everyone else is concerned but it'll help me a lot if some of you answer this.
I'm sure most of you have gathered from my sign in name that I'm a drummer. I've been playing for 13 years and it's always kinda bummed me out that I've never been very technical. Some people have a feel for that, but I just seem to be unable to grasp it. I think I'm a hard hitter, and a solid drummer, but my question to the musicians here is - What do you think is more important? Someone who can hold a solid beat, or someone who can play really amazing fills or jazz chops or whatever, but maybe isn't comfortable just playing straightforward stuff? I guess it could apply to any instrument player really. Anyway, thanks in advance...

Andy
07-21-2008, 01:04 PM
Whenever I think of this, it always brings to mind a great quote from Josh Freese;
"I would rather see someone play a Ramones' song spot-on, with heart and soul, than play some lick they learned out of a book, with all the chops in the world. Chops can be fantastic to watch, but they don't make the whole world tap their foot, cry, or get excited. Chops can make your jaw drop and your eyes widen for a few seconds, but the feeling in the heart is different."

He is so, so right. I'm a beat man rather than a showey percussional masturbation kinda guy.

Llamas
07-21-2008, 01:15 PM
Ok, probably another pointless thread as far as everyone else is concerned but it'll help me a lot if some of you answer this.