PDA

View Full Version : Hammerhead / Stay away Clear Up

m0rt
08-05-2008, 11:17 PM
Hello all,

I'm a University Music Student from Australia studying technical production and business.

There has been alot of arguing on this message board about The similaritie between the breadown of Hammerhead and the main riff of Nirvana's Stay Away. I would just like to finally clear up the copyright implications that MAY have been breached on this occasion.

The Law states that one cannot copy melody from a song or that songs main Hook. Though a hook can be used if at least 10% off that riff is changed. Changes in riffs refers to the change of rhythmic paterns and melodic contous (the interval space in between notes) not simply transposing he song into a different key. Also a chord progression can not be claimed as copyright only melody and rhythm (for example you could use the chrd progression from pretty fly for a white guy as long as you changed the strumming pattern by atleast 10%).

Having explained a whole lot of copyright jargon it comes down to this. Offspring took 100% of the 'Hook" from Nirvana's Stay Away, they did however transpose it to another key, although this doees not count as changing the riff due to each interval between notes is exactly the same.

So as long as The Offspring have not seeked permission from the owners of the work (I don;t believe courtney love owns the rights any more due to she sold them), they have committed a breach of copyright. It is therefore upto the artist to either claim a portion of the royalties if they wish or simply allow the riff to be used with no legal action.

Personally as a musician and song writter i believe that the offspring have made a very lazy attempt at writting a song. They would have been fully aware of the riffs origins.

Also I do not care wat any of you say. The riff is exactly the same yet in a different key.

-m0rt

lost_nvrfound
08-05-2008, 11:19 PM