PDA

View Full Version : Fatal error message on BBS search



Jojan
08-27-2008, 11:01 AM
Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 16777216 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 262144 bytes) in /server/offspring/web/forums/search.php on line 1158

disclaimer_07
08-27-2008, 11:06 AM
Go to line 1158 in the source code and see what was wrong! Now seriously, what is the point of this thread?

Tijs
08-27-2008, 11:20 AM
It often happens when you search more than once in a short time. It means that you're using too much memory.

If you do a search you'll notice search.php?searchid=123456 in the url. This gets saved in the memory and if you visit that link it's only valid for a short while. After that it doesn't work anymore because it's out of the server's memory.

Anyway, it's probably easy to change.

Ryder1234
08-27-2008, 11:26 AM
http://www.offspring.com/forums/showthread.php?t=33408

But, you know, it's probably better to just delete that one, since it was made by Pyro Offspring and all...

disclaimer_07
08-27-2008, 11:29 AM
It often happens when you search more than once in a short time. It means that you're using too much memory.

If you do a search you'll notice search.php?searchid=123456 in the url. This gets saved in the memory and if you visit that link it's only valid for a short while. After that it doesn't work anymore because it's out of the server's memory.

Anyway, it's probably easy to change.

Ahhhhhhhh, so that's what the whole thing was about...... Yea, a search link expires after a few minutes, I guess not more than 20 minutes.

disclaimer_07
08-29-2008, 01:37 AM
Haha, I just got a similar error:


Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 16777216 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 35 bytes) in /server/offspring/web/forums/search.php on line 1153

lolz

Rooster
08-29-2008, 02:53 PM
http://www.offspring.com/forums/showthread.php?t=33408

But, you know, it's probably better to just delete that one, since it was made by Pyro Offspring and all...

Hmm, speaking of Pyro Offspring... Where the hell has he gone? I kinda miss all his threads..................................:D

I think i got a similar error once here, but i don't really bother, since it does not happen more often.

Jojan
08-30-2008, 02:45 PM
Go to line 1158 in the source code and see what was wrong! Now seriously, what is the point of this thread?

Making the error visible. It's a bug, and not a feature, and should therefore be exposed and then fixed.