PDA

View Full Version : "Local music"

Llamas
10-20-2008, 06:43 PM
So I was at my favorite CD store today, looking for something in the local section, and I decided to browse the entire section, which I've never done before. I started to come across something I thought was kind of odd; bands that are fairly famous in the Local section. Replacements, Semisonic, Soul Asylum, Mason Jennings... the first three especially just seemed odd. I mean, I understand the idea that, well they're from here, so they're "local"... but do people really look in the local section to find these bands? Wouldn't you be more inclined to just go look in the modern rock section? I know it doesn't really matter, and they probably are also located in the modern rock section... but I just didn't understand the point of having them in the local section.

Discuss?

coke_a_holic
10-20-2008, 07:16 PM
To create pride in your otherwise miserable local scene?

In DC, the music is all pretty much terrible, I find solace in knowing that at some point, Fugazi formed here, as did Ted Leo and the Pharmacists.

Because everything else is shit.

Llamas
10-20-2008, 07:29 PM

In DC, the music is all pretty much terrible, I find solace in knowing that at some point, Fugazi formed here, as did Ted Leo and the Pharmacists.

hahaha, maybe. Our music scene is pretty good, though. Bob Dylan, Replacements, Jennings, Atmosphere, Husker Du/Bob Mould, Soul Asylum, Prince, Babes in Toyland, one member of The Hold Steady is from here (quite a few songs about the twin cities), POS, Brother Ali... it goes on.

We actually tend to have a lot of pride in our music scene... so I don't get why we'd bother?

coke_a_holic
10-20-2008, 08:06 PM
Two members from The Hold Steady are, Craig Finn and the guitarist, but they moved off to New York, which leads me to: I mean local bands, like, local local; the children still living in your hometown trying to make it big.