PDA

View Full Version : A program to make square thumbnails?



Tizzalicious
10-29-2008, 11:12 AM
I need to make TONS of 100x100 thumbnails for my shop all the time, and it's driving me insane. I have a thumbnail problem (easy thumbnails), but it won't cut images that aren't square into squares, it just squeezes them together, so the proportions are all wrong.

Does anyone know a program that creates square thumbnails (without distortion)? Orrrrr what would work too, is if someone could tell me how to batch edit in either gimp or photoshop.

Thanks!

nieh
10-29-2008, 11:14 AM
Why would you want your thumbnail to be square? I don't think it would protect your thumb as well then.

Endymion
10-29-2008, 11:29 AM
imagemagick might do what you need.

Tizzalicious
10-29-2008, 11:54 AM
Why would you want your thumbnail to be square? I don't think it would protect your thumb as well then.
It would if I had stubby little fingers? Actually, a girl in my high school had very square nails, and she was proud of them too...wtf?

Thanks Endy!

Tijs
10-29-2008, 12:48 PM
Pssst, Photoshop!

Click 'File' -> 'Scripts' -> 'Image Processor'

Tizzalicious
10-29-2008, 01:27 PM
Pssst, Photoshop!

Click 'File' -> 'Scripts' -> 'Image Processor'

Ooooh, super! Can I batch edit like that? *runs off to try*

The Talking Pie
10-29-2008, 03:30 PM
If that doesn't work, let me know exactly what you need it to do and I can programme an app for you.

Tijs
10-29-2008, 03:44 PM
If that doesn't work, let me know exactly what you need it to do and I can programme an app for you.:) I was thinking of doing the same! PHP-wise that is.

The Talking Pie
10-29-2008, 04:25 PM
Would you use gd for PHP? I've used scripts that make use of the add-on for various things, but never used it myself... I like things to be in-house with my apps, and not dependant upon external libraries. Which is why I absolutely refuse to code within the .NET framework.

Tijs
10-29-2008, 05:03 PM
I think re-sampling images through PHP always uses the gd_library, doesn't it? I can only program code for websites though so I'm kind of stuck to that.

Tizzalicious
10-30-2008, 12:41 AM
I still can't get it to work...It resizes them, but it doesn't make then into squares. It just makes the longest side 100 px, and the other side shorter.

That's too nice, Dave! What I need is to turn say...a 1000 x 750 px picture (JPG) into a 100 x 100 px thumbnail, without it stretching. So basically it would have to resize the shortest side to 100, and then crop the longest side to 100 as well. (I hope this is understandable).

HeadAroundU
10-30-2008, 01:09 AM
I can make it in ACDsee. I turned off "preserve aspect ratio" and it works. I can also batch resize.

You need to set aspect ratio to 1 x 1 or turn it off.

Tizzalicious
10-30-2008, 08:50 AM
Thanks HAU, I'll give that a try!

The Talking Pie
10-30-2008, 10:51 AM
Let me know if ACDSee doesn't do it for you. I already have some software made that does 90% of what you want, so it'll be easy to modify it for what you want.

Just to check, you do use Windows, right?

The Talking Pie
10-30-2008, 11:39 AM
I think re-sampling images through PHP always uses the gd_library, doesn't it? I can only program code for websites though so I'm kind of stuck to that.

Sounds about right. What I don't like about gd is that it encourages running CPU-intensive tasks on a web-server. The first time I installed it on my test server at home I had to up the resources available to scripts by a factor of ten.