PDA

View Full Version : Thanks for Hammerhead

drake7
01-06-2009, 08:33 AM
I'm a USMC veteran. The Offspring song "Hammerhead" is a song I listened to when I was in the Corps and I still listen to now. It describes musically a lot of the feelings I and other Marines and soldiers experienced. It can be hard to express them and I wanted to thank the Offspring for such an amazing song that captures so much.

Ninty Man
01-06-2009, 08:48 AM
I'm a USMC veteran. The Offspring song "Hammerhead" is a song I listened to when I was in the Corps and I still listen to now. It describes musically a lot of the feelings I and other Marines and soldiers experienced. It can be hard to express them and I wanted to thank the Offspring for such an amazing song that captures so much.

But the song is about school shooting

jacknife737
01-06-2009, 08:50 AM
People are free to interpret songs as they like, i know i relate to some songs outside of their "official" meaning. Plus Hammerhead is deliberately vague.

It's always cool to see how a song by the band has made an impact on someone.

findout5
01-06-2009, 10:17 AM
It was written from a sarcastic pov...not literal...and like said before, it's about high-school shootings!

Slim Pickens The Bomb Rider
01-06-2009, 10:21 AM
Who gives a shit what it's about, if he feels good with it then that's a good thing

bighead384
01-06-2009, 10:28 AM
Even though it has a dark twist at the end, the lyrics in the beginning of the song definitely explain some of the mentality of someone who fights for the sake of good. "I'll take a life, ten others may live". I think Hammerhead explores the good and bad of fighting.

Free?
01-06-2009, 12:21 PM
Old fears about my hammerhead artwork's concept starting to revive again... It will most likely fail to deliver a message to you people.

randman21
01-06-2009, 03:27 PM
^Yes, dude. It was way too deep for anyone to get, haha.

Alex101
01-06-2009, 03:46 PM