PDA

View Full Version : Job Hunting

Thomas
04-12-2009, 05:51 PM
So right now i'm in very desperate need of work. Unfortunately, I'm very new to this whole "job searching" thing so I was wondering if anyone had any pointers or advice to lead me in the right direction.

T-6005
04-12-2009, 05:52 PM
Don't work for Vector.

0r4ng3
04-12-2009, 05:55 PM
Don't work for Vector.
http://www.coolrom.com/screenshots/genesis/Vectorman%20(2).gif ?

JohnnyNemesis
04-12-2009, 05:57 PM
Don't put too much faith in the major job sites like Monster or Career Builder. Idealist.org yields decent stuff. Make sure to check company websites as well as job posting sites for openings. Make your cover letter and resumé immactulate. Register with local temp agencies.

WebDudette
04-12-2009, 06:27 PM
If you have to get a job go to telemarketing companies. They will not turn you down. But I've never known anyone to work at those for more then a couple months, it is apparently pretty agonizing.

SweetTatyana
04-12-2009, 06:49 PM
After sending in a resume, if I haven't heard anything in a week or two, I'll find the number and follow up. Everytime I have done this I have gotten a either an interview or a quick call back for one. :)

Oh also, another thing is try and think of some companies you'd like to work for and look for careers directly on their websites because many companies just use their own sites to advertise.

Outerspaceman21
04-12-2009, 06:51 PM
It's tough. The big thing is not to be picky. If an opportunity comes up, take it. I'm still looking and I haven't found shit. THere is a new pizza place, though, and they need pizza delivery drivers. I'm gonna see if I can get that job.

Thomas
04-12-2009, 08:10 PM
Yeah, I'm definitely not looking for a career. I'm just looking for a part-time job to help pay the rent next year. I'll definitely take all of this into consideration, though.

Llamas
04-12-2009, 08:21 PM