PDA

View Full Version : Time Signatures

T-6005
05-08-2009, 04:50 PM
I suppose as fans or ex-fans of punkish bands like The Offspring, we're going to be notoriously unfeeling when it comes to using different time signatures, but I've been thinking about it lately. I haven't written a song I considered decent in quite some time and felt like I'd fallen into a rut where I was just dissatisfied with myself - so I just started playing in 3/4 and voila all of a sudden my interest is revitalized.

All of my songs have been in 4/4 until now, but I find myself very comfortable with 3/4 and I can kind of enjoy 7/4.

Strangely, though I enjoy jazzy tunes and their meter, trying to work out the flow in 5/4 music always throws me off - I just don't get it.

Also, for anyone who can explain it in the basest terms - 3/4 =/= 6/8? I get the 3/4 beat, DA da da DA da da DA da da (I DID mention feeling comfortable with it, didn't I?)... but how would you accent 6/8 while counting it out to differentiate it?

Do you like to experiment with time signatures? Or not?

randman21
05-08-2009, 05:45 PM
I'm sure llamas or someone will come straighten me out if I'm wrong, but as I understand it, 3/4 is primarily used in waltzes, and in popular music, it's mostly 6/8 that you're hearing. I don't think there's a major difference, except that the emphasis isn't quite the same (Da da da da da da, Da da da da da da; less or no stress on the fourth beat of any measure).

I don't really experiment with time sigs much, outside of 4/4, 6/8 and 12/8. Anything else just feels unnatural for the kind of music I write. Too progressive. 5/4 is hella cool, though.

JohnnyNemesis
05-08-2009, 07:20 PM
I thought most popular music was 4/4?

I totally fail at time signatures in general though, mostly because the program I use has this awkward-ass percentage system when trying to calculate tempo in relation to time signature and it's a fucking headache.

Outerspaceman21
05-08-2009, 07:46 PM