PDA

View Full Version : I haven't talked to my father in a year

IamSam
05-09-2009, 03:46 AM
I have several more hours to go at work and this has been weighing on my mind here recently. As of last month I have not spoken to my father in a year. Some back story: My father was physically, emotionally, and verbally abusive to my mother and myself. He is also bipolar and spends vast amounts of money on lofty ideas and then never follows through. She divorced him when I was a sophomore in high school (6 years ago already?) due to the fact that I confided in her that I was so scared of him I had been keeping my rifle loaded under my bed. He has continued on a downward spiral, becoming an alcoholic, draining his parents bank accounts, and dragging his younger brother down the same path he has fallen. I cut ties with him a year ago, writing him (and the rest of his family) a letter that detailed what he has done wrong and why he needs to find help. The last news that I heard was that the younger brother intercepted my letter so my father wouldn't do something drastic after reading it, although other members of the family were trying to organize an intervention.

Every time someone hears my story they always act like it's a miracle that I'm the way I am: A decent enough human being with a lot going for him. But why shouldn't it be that way? My personality is such that yes, I should be the way I am. Why is it that it seems to be stereotypical that child victims of abuse should be messed up individuals? True, my sister had a huge rebellious stage, but she has recovered from that and is more or less following along my footsteps in being a responsible person.

Also, I feel no regret for what I did by cutting off communication. But the question still remains: What would have happened if I had confronted him in person? What if I stood up to him and called him out whenever he made an ass of himself and embarrassed me?