PDA

View Full Version : So Prosecute Me.

T-6005
12-07-2009, 10:36 PM
In some ways, I am a shameless pirate. While I unfortunately don't sail the high seas in an Indonesian off-coast high-keeled motorboat, Uzi in hand, I do download music, TV shows, games, movies and the occasional program I feel like testing out (though to be honest I generally end up buying the last three).

In case you didn't catch on, that makes me a pirate in the rather more recent, less vs. ninja sense.

The truth is I don't have a fully fleshed-out argument for doing so. I'm not a huge proponent of open-source software – I don't run Linux, play free games over ones that cost money, bother to head to the record store for CDs or even think about putting a dent in my student-sized wallet just so I can watch Iron Man. Hell, I went to see it twice in theaters for pretty much no reason. That's practically the price of the DVD right there. I do run OpenOffice and my old computer was dual-booted with Ubuntu and Windows before it crashed and practically melted. I haven't bothered to extend the same treatment to this new laptop.

But you know what? In purposely breaking the law – there isn't a huge filesharing witch-hunt in Canada... yet – I'm reacting to the very market forces these dominant companies are forcing on me. Hell, in finding new ways to acquire the new products for cheaper – in this case, for free – I'm just acting in my best interests as a rational maximizer. I seek to maximize my utility while minimizing my use of personal resources. Is that so wrong?