PDA

View Full Version : What Microphone is Dexter using?

offsrx
09-06-2010, 05:01 AM
Hey guys - I'm going to buy myself a microphone but - I don't know which one! So i'm analysing on - what microphones are using my favourite rock singers, and it seems that a lot of them are using Shure mics.
But what is Dexter using?
Is that a dynamic or condeser mic?
perhaps on this picture:
http://uploads.neatorama.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/09/rockmusicreview.jpg

disclaimer_07
09-06-2010, 06:07 AM
It's a dynamic microphone. Or at least it looks like one. I'm no expert, but I think condenser mics are often used in studios for recording vocals, they are much more sensitive to background noise though - that's probably the reason why singers use dynamic mics in live performances.

Oxygene
09-06-2010, 06:58 AM
wasn't their gear listed a while back?

let me look

edit:
his mic wasn't listed sorry...

edit2:
doesn't this belong in GOD

_Lost_
09-06-2010, 07:44 AM
what purpose is this microphone for?

If I remember correctly, the most common stage mic used by professionals is from Shure. Don't remember which one in particular though. About a hundred bucks a pop;

PietroBlood
09-06-2010, 10:18 AM
He use Audix microphones

Little_Miss_1565
09-06-2010, 12:28 PM
If I remember correctly, the most common stage mic used by professionals is from Shure. Don't remember which one in particular though. About a hundred bucks a pop;

I believe you're talking about the SM-58. A real workhorse of a mic. I have an SM-58 Beta -- it's a little brighter and more sensitive than the SM-58. But that is not a Shure mic that Dexter is using in that photo.

He use Audix microphones

Just googled for some images...looks like it could be an Audix.

Ryder1234
09-06-2010, 01:48 PM
Definitely looks like an Audix mic now that I've looked some up. Compare it to this mic

http://acorn-designs.com/shopping/images/OM-5.JPG

I don't know if that's the exact one, but it looks exactly like it.

Tijs
09-06-2010, 02:05 PM