PDA

View Full Version : Black Metal Thread (Hail Satan!)

Jakebert
08-27-2011, 10:28 AM
I've been really getting into black metal lately, mostly thanks to John Darnielle from the Mountain Goats' insistence on his blog. So far I've really gotten into Darkthrone, Emperor, Marduk, Agalloch, and Wolves in the Throne Room. I also like Burzum a lot but I hate to admit it because the dude is so, so insanely stupid.

Anyone else like BLACK METAL? Share your favorite albums here. Marrow of the Spirit by Agalloch is probably my favorite black metal album at the moment.

holland25
08-27-2011, 03:19 PM
Yes, I do. I've been listening to black metal since 2004. I went through a period when I listened solely to black metal.

Favourite albums? For a Glory of All Evil Spirits, Rise for Victory by Mastiphal, everything by Azaghal and Impaled Nazarene and 90% of Marduk's, Dark Funeral's and Emperor's stuff. And many more that I'm currently too lazy to render.

Lord Phidias
08-29-2011, 02:42 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hm3DzHOmSDs

holland25
08-29-2011, 03:09 AM
Norther is not black metal, it's melodic death metal / Gothenburg metal.

bighead384
08-29-2011, 11:38 AM
I can't get into music like this because of the vocalists. It's too corny for me. What do you like about this music? I sure as hell don't get it.

holland25
08-29-2011, 12:10 PM
I don't know... Its brutality, heaviness, fastness and (in melodic black metal bands) those super cool keyboard melodies. Not mentioning the lyrics, cause I almost never understand a single word.

Check this song to see what I'm talking about:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V0V0_v524nQ

Jakebert
08-29-2011, 01:47 PM
The vocals can be difficult to get past, but what I love about black metal is that when it's done right it hits this perfect balance of majestic, atmospheric beauty and complete raw aggression. A really great black metal song can perfectly evoke feelings and images that a lot of music just can't.

Little_Miss_1565