PDA

View Full Version : What are you a snob about?

WebDudette
10-07-2011, 05:22 AM
Most people are pretentious or snobby about at least one thing. What is your one thing?

I don't usually say anything, but I secretly judge people and can be a real asshole about food. I loathe that people think restaurants like Olive Garden, Ah-So, and Macayos are anything but sub-par and over-priced. I get especially snobby about Japanese food. Not because I think I'm an expert, but because everyone else think they're so cool and know what they're talking about because they ate at some shitty sushi place. It annoys me when I tell people I work at a Japanese restaurant and they ask me about California rolls and shit, but that's understandable. What I really hate is when I tell them we have shashimi and fish, but we aren't really a sushi restaurant. Then they try to tell me that California rolls, or any rolls for that matter, are genuine Japanese food.

I don't mind if you just don't want to go out of your way to find a good restaurant or are not willing to spend the extra money*. Just don't pretend that Pei-Wei is top-tier Asian food, that Buca di Beppo is anything more than a mediocre Italian place, or that Chili's should even be considered a reasonable place to eat.

*this is a joke anyway, you can usually get great food for the same amount of money you'd be spending at one of these places.

My Name Was Taken
10-07-2011, 08:13 AM
Wen ppl tlk/tipe liek dis

bighead384
10-07-2011, 08:19 AM
The fact that Pavement is overrated.

My Name Was Taken
10-07-2011, 08:23 AM
When a student asks the question that was just explained moments after it was explained.

WebDudette
10-07-2011, 09:05 AM
Pet peeves and snobbery aren't really the same thing. Though coincidentally, redundancy is one of my pet peeves.

Jakebert
10-09-2011, 02:02 PM
Beer. We already talked about this in the beer thread, though.