PDA

View Full Version : Ray Bradbury is DEAD.

WebDudette
06-06-2012, 08:16 AM
This shit is getting out of hand. I'll be honest, I thought Ray Bradbury had been dead for a while, then was surprised when I found out he wasn't, then sad when I realized he just died. I need to sleep.

Anyway, everyone's read Fahrenheit 451, like it or hate it you probably understand its significance.

Outerspaceman21
06-06-2012, 10:59 AM
Bummer. Great author. I remember going to a High School that didn't require you to read Fahrenheit 451 (or maybe it was, and the teachers just didn't care enough to make us read it). I had to seek it out on my own after I graduated. Good book. My favorite work of Bradbury, though, was the short story "There Will Come Soft Rains". He will be missed.

Godxilla
06-06-2012, 12:01 PM
Man, this famous-people-dying thing really is getting old!
I didn't care for Whitney Houston, nor Michael Jackson, nor Donna Summers, or even Dick Clark, but Ray Bradbury? Geez!
Loved the Martian Chronicles. I'll be reading it and Fahrenheit 451 over the summer in his memory. RIP, Ray, you will be missed. :(

jacknife737
06-06-2012, 04:41 PM
Didn't know he was still alive.

Loved his work though. I was talking with some friends the other day about book to film adaptations we'd like to see, and Fahrenheit 451 was right at the top of my list.

Thomas
06-06-2012, 08:41 PM
Didn't know he was still alive.

Loved his work though. I was talking with some friends the other day about book to film adaptations we'd like to see, and Fahrenheit 451 was right at the top of my list.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0060390/

But yes, this is sad indeed. I don't read a lot of books, but I've actually read several of his. The Wonderful Ice Cream Suit is a wonderful story, so I'll have to pick up the actual written book somewhere.

TheJakes84
06-06-2012, 09:34 PM