PDA

View Full Version : My Life as a Feminist.

Mota Boy
03-26-2005, 01:20 AM
When I went to college [I'm taking a semester off, but it's a long story], I wrote for a college magazine. I was a fucking great writer. I ran into my editor tonight and he told me how many people specifically ask for my articles. I kick fuckin' ass at writing.

Anyway, a while back this magazine ran a series on women at our college. I specifically wrote a piece about women who drink (because, as the article concluded, they want to outperform men at social standards set by men). when I ran into my editor tonight, he told me that I got an e-mail from a group a while back. I found out that when you type in a certain, common, series of words, which also happens to be the name of my article, my article comes up first on google. Above the BBC. Above cafepress... above fucking everything [pm me if you're curious, and if I like you I'll give you the address]. OOoooooh, and now that I reread the article, I realize that I allude to someone from the BBS in it.

So I got this e-mail tonight. (well, actually I got it earlier, but I don't have regular internet access. I had 63 e-mails as of tonight. This was one of them.)

Hello,

I'm hoping you can direct this email to [[Mota Boy]]. I searched
for her in the [[Mota Boy's college]] U website, but no luck.

I am from the Sam Spady Foundation and would like [[Mota]]'s
permission to quote a bit of her article (Mota's Awesome Article is referenced here) in our next newsletter. She mentioned Samantha in her article, so I
know she's familiar with the Sam's story.

We will, of course, give credit for the source.

Many thanks!
Judy Wood
Newsletter Copywriter