PDA

View Full Version : Mission From God has a dumb time signature!

endlesst0m
06-02-2005, 07:40 PM
YUCK...as a drummer, i know that mission from god has a really stupid sounding time signature in this one part of the song they do a couple times, its like a part that doesnt have any vocals. it sounds retarded, im surprised the offspring didn't realize how wrong it is, with how long theyve been a band.

p.s. dont try to tell me im wrong about it or it sounds fine, ANY musician will know what im talking about.

Strider
06-02-2005, 07:51 PM
I sign it. You're 100% right.

I'm a guitarist, not a drummer, but I find this song weird too. The Offspring's main feature ever since they started to play has been their catchy melody, their awesome rhythm. But I have just heard Mission From God and I think it's awfully dumb. Weak melody, rhythm-less guitars. Painful to the ears, I dare to say. I hated it. I'd never like to see it played in a show. This song should have been discarded.

Dexter1989
06-02-2005, 07:53 PM
as being a guitarrist for more than 4 years i have to tell you i dont see the time signature....
maybe if you put the minute and second where apparently happens.
i really like the song though, old-school offspring

edit: maybe u mean the part at 2:28. The drum part, it sounds like it totally cuts the song and hits the hi hat at a different tempo, but its not wrong

Strider
06-02-2005, 07:56 PM
Forgot to state...I can't follow the tempo. The time signature is really bad.

Camilamazed
06-02-2005, 07:57 PM
Cammie can't say a word cause she understands nothing about it hehe :D

Strider
06-02-2005, 07:59 PM
But you do like the song. Could you explain why?

Dexter1989
06-02-2005, 07:59 PM
i can follow it perfectly...

i think its really offspring style. i also find it better than most of the songs on splinter. A mixture from s/t ignition and ixnay on the hombre, with some smash on it too

Strider
06-02-2005, 08:00 PM