Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: How do I hook up my Super Nintendo to a Flat Screen?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Cascadian Exile
    Posts
    19,598


    Default How do I hook up my Super Nintendo to a Flat Screen?

    The question is fairly simple. However I want to note that I live in Europe, have a European SNES and of course a European TV. I don't know if that makes a difference, but it might.

    Secondly, I have an RF cable (the antenna cable, for people like me who are technologically retarded), and the S-Video cable (also known as the cable with two penises and no vaginas).

    Neither of them work. From what I've read I need an RF modulator if I want to use the RF cable, or if I want to use the S-Video cable I need a multi-out.

    Does anyone have any experience with this? If so, do you have any advice?

    And no, I don't want to use emulators, or internet subscriptions, or USB control pads. Those are really cool, but I just want to use my SNES on my TV.

    Otherwise I'll just move my old tv to the bedroom and play supernintendo there. That's right, I'll play SNES from my BED.
    Quote Originally Posted by T-6005 View Post
    I do no be following, fortune prick me if I do no.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Guelph, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4,540


    Default

    Good question, thanks for asking cause I need help too. I was trying to hook mine up about 3 weeks ago and totally forgot how after all these years.

    Do you play any of the DK games?
    ::: DanceFuckerDance :::
    Quote Originally Posted by coke_a_holic View Post
    It's funny because Shank wants to be railed by Dexter.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Cascadian Exile
    Posts
    19,598


    Default

    I'm guessing by DK you don't mean Denmark, but Donkey Kong.

    Yes I have one of the Donkey Kong games. Maybe I have two. Unfortunately though I think one is in German.

    I mostly just want to play Super Mario Allstars though. And this has really put a damper on that.
    Quote Originally Posted by T-6005 View Post
    I do no be following, fortune prick me if I do no.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    9,430


    Default

    Honestly I'm kind of confused by your explanation. If it fits one TV it should be able to fit most of them - even HD TVs still have the standard inputs, flatscreen or no.

    To sum up - I sympathize with your Marioless plight but am completely unable to help.

    EDIT - I mean, unless you're talking Peritel/SCART cables here.
    Thibault's New Music Site!
    Quote Originally Posted by wheelchairman
    Those wool-headed buffoons have more pride than a Shaido with one goat.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Guelph, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4,540


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wheelchairman View Post
    I'm guessing by DK you don't mean Denmark, but Donkey Kong.

    Yes I have one of the Donkey Kong games. Maybe I have two. Unfortunately though I think one is in German.

    I mostly just want to play Super Mario Allstars though. And this has really put a damper on that.
    Yeah, Donkey Kong.. lol. God damn I miss those games. Especially the one with Diddy. He was the best, even better than DK. Wasn't a fan of Dixie. Only good thing about her was her hair grabbing onto shit.

    I miss Yoshi too.
    ::: DanceFuckerDance :::
    Quote Originally Posted by coke_a_holic View Post
    It's funny because Shank wants to be railed by Dexter.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Cascadian Exile
    Posts
    19,598


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by T-6005 View Post
    Honestly I'm kind of confused by your explanation. If it fits one TV it should be able to fit most of them - even HD TVs still have the standard inputs, flatscreen or no.

    To sum up - I sympathize with your Marioless plight but am completely unable to help.

    EDIT - I mean, unless you're talking Peritel/SCART cables here.
    No, because the SNES went through the antenna cable, and then you just had to find the proper 'unprogrammed' channel it was on. That was easy enough. However since most (or at least mine) HD TVs automatically program the channels, I wouldn't even know where to start.

    Naturally I started looking in the instruction manual but that did not help.
    Quote Originally Posted by T-6005 View Post
    I do no be following, fortune prick me if I do no.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,122


    Default

    Hmm don't you have a touch on your remote control that makes you go to the auxiliar stuff ? like when you want to use your DVD player ?

    Or find an old TV...
    Last edited by Harleyquiiinn; 06-18-2009 at 02:02 PM.
    ___________________________________________

    All the Beautiful Things you do

    Respect my authoritah !

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Cascadian Exile
    Posts
    19,598


    Default

    Yes I do. And no that doesn't work. There's no signal on all of those.

    Not even when i plug the S-video in because that requires a multi-out.

    And as I clearly said, I want to use it on my new tv. For the sake of easiness. That and my old tv has shitty sound.
    Quote Originally Posted by T-6005 View Post
    I do no be following, fortune prick me if I do no.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    9,430


    Default

    Yeah, you really need that high-definition audio to properly enjoy Mario.
    Thibault's New Music Site!
    Quote Originally Posted by wheelchairman
    Those wool-headed buffoons have more pride than a Shaido with one goat.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Cascadian Exile
    Posts
    19,598


    Default

    No, but I do want to sit on my couch where my tv is, smart-ass. And since I know this is possible, I want to get it done!
    Quote Originally Posted by T-6005 View Post
    I do no be following, fortune prick me if I do no.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •