Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tips for band

Default Tips for band

im a drummer and have been drumming nearly a year, some people have asked me to join there band, but i dont know if im good enough, there new at bass guitar/guitar as well. what do you guys suggest

my stuff:
    sabian b8s cybols
    cb kit
    peal bas drum hitter
    cb cymbol stands
    zildgin sticks
    hickory wood sticks (x2)

cymbols:
    sabian b8: ride, crash, high hats

i also have a cb crash and high hats

Advise: Start practicing together. See if every one's got the same taste in music or very close. Listen to each other. Know you are going to write your own songs and have them on mtv. Rule the music!! Work together.

PS: Make shure every one's got the same goal. If the one guy only does this for fun and a part time hobby he is going to stand in the way of the band getting singed and maby wreck some one's dreams!
    Last edited by чGH7 G3L; 02-01-2005 at 11:24 AM.

No, users must have a valid student ID or Library card I believe.

Yeah man, im a drummer also and ive been playing for about 5 years and I have just now been accepted into a band. As long as you can hold a beat for a song then you should be aghhhhhhhallllllll right.

Your equipment doesn't matter at the start. As long as you can fit the style of music. If you're a punk drummer and you can only play punk, then don't join a metal band. But if your style's diverse then join any band you want.

When you get the cash, upgrade your cymbals. I'm guessing you bought the b8 starter pack. They're better than zildjan zxt's but they still sound like a tin can. Don't be surprised when you end up paying more for cymbals than you payed for your whole kit. I recently got some new cymbals. Zildjan Avedis 16" medium crash, Zildjan 18" custom A crash and a 14" stagg splash. That's in addition to a 19" custom k ride and 14" custom K hi-hats. Altogether they cost about 800. They sound amazing though, so it's worth it.