Thread: Job Interview help

Default Job Interview help

Right, so I've been putting out loads of CVs for some time now, and just today I got a phone call for an interview through leaving my name and number on an answering machine.

The job is for a bar that does lunch and also requires some nights bar work. The only thing is, I have no experience with these. Like, sure, I've made food for myself and for others at home, but that's about it. I've mixed some drinks at home and have watched my boyfriend bartending, but that's about as far as my experience goes with that!

My only experience really is helping out at stables, mucking out shit and stuff like that.

Also, just to make matters worse, I'm disgustingly shy...so am dreading the interview.

Any tips on how I could turn it around and make it work for me?

When I first started waitressing and I was just like you, so fucking shy. I didn't like talking I felt so uncomfortable. But as time went on I got more comfortable. It also helps with who you work too. With bartending (which I do sometimes too) if you're not too sure how to make a drink you can always look it up, but if you can't just say something like " I never heard of that before, but if you know whats in it I can make it" Most people don't mind that. If its a bar that has a cook then you just have to worry about putting in the order and getting the food out, but if you do have to make it I'm sure they will show you. You just gotta have some confidence (one again easier said then done).